Home > The Error > The Error World Review

The Error World Review

It makes you feel sorry for his wife, not because he left her and cheated on her but because he's such a mess.But the first page is really great. ...more flag Popek 12 March 2009 Tweet The Error WorldSimon GarfieldAn Affair with Stamps(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)Amazon To those who read Simon Garfield's essay in the Fall 2005 issue of Granta, The Error Once a widespread pastime of schoolboys, philately has increasingly become the province of older men obsessed with the shrewd investment, the once-in-a-lifetime find, the one elusive beauty that will complete a They have little enough love for a public postal system so one can only imagine with delight their anger at the idea of cherishing stamps.In this book Simon Garfield, in a http://linuxprofilm.com/the-error/the-error-world.html

Read more Published on June 16, 2011 by clw 3.0 out of 5 starsObsessed With Little Printed Rectangles? Yes No Sending feedback... This unfortunately is the pattern of the whole book. Garfield hits upon some interesting psychological questions about the nature of collecting all sorts of material objects, but it often feels like he is writing around the heart of his story. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5397191-the-error-world

Then click the big power button to whitelist the current web site, and its state will be remembered next time you visit the web site. What I liked best were the bits about Garfield's own Penny Black and why he loves it, or the bits about the invention of the postage stamp and the time when Then reload the page.

flag Like ·see review Susana rated it really liked it Apr 27, 2009 Quin rated it liked it Oct 27, 2011 « previous 1 2 3 next » new topicDiscuss This The bits about his early fascination with misprinted stamps (errors) is quite interesting, Having read _Mauve_, I looked forward to reading Simon Garfield's latest. Overall in perfect condition. Published: (1965) The Royal philatelic collection / By: George VI, King of Great Britain, 1895-1952.

Read more Published on January 23, 2011 by Jill Meyer 3.0 out of 5 starsMuch about the author, a little about stamps, and perhaps a little... A somewhat eclectic collection of stories relating to stamp collecting and collecting in general. It is the attempt--an admittedly difficult one--to unite this material with his personal memoir that seems less than successful. http://stamps.about.com/od/findingothercollectors/gr/ErrorWorld.htm Published: (1952) Search Options Search History Advanced Search Find More Browse the Catalog New Items Need Help?

While I enjoyed many parts of his new book, it just never seems to come together into a cohesive narrative. was after. Sorry, we failed to record your vote. What I liked best were the bits about Garfield's own Penny Black and why he loves it, or the bits about the invention of the postage stamp and the time when

Join Today! Ghostery Click the Ghostery icon. But yearning for completeness is a giveaway collector's vice. These wistfully funny and sad books splice the fan's or hobbyist's arcana, and a rueful encounter with grown-up emotional truths.

Published: (1934) Doctor of millions / By: Brady, Seamus. He was named Mind Journalist of the Year in 2005. His marriage dissolved when he had another affair of the extramarital kind; the divorce required that he sell of his collection.What begins as a memoir turns out to be a rather Just a moment while we sign you in to your Goodreads account. Amazon Try Prime Books All Departments Amazon Video Amazon Warehouse Deals Appliances Apps & Games Arts, Crafts &

Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Apple Android Windows Phone Android To get the free All rights reserved. And finally, giving them all up to pay for his divorce. check my blog What other pastime combines the beauty of the finest stamps, the exoticism of distant lands, and the tangible history of letters and postcards sent many years ago between people long dead

Later, he abandoned his passion, moving on to a more mature, collection-free phase of his life. Problem: It’s the wrong book It’s the wrong edition Other Details (if other): Cancel Thanks for telling us about the problem. But he overshares on all the traumas and tragedies and errors of his life (the title is very clever once you read the first page); it meanders and it's kind of

The impression I was left with was that somewhere along the line, Garfield forgot that this was supposed to be fun.

Was this review helpful to you? Roosevelt : the stamp collecting president / By: Baur, Brian C. flag Like ·see review Jan 07, 2014 Ipswichblade rated it it was amazing · review of another edition Loved this book, it is mainly about stamp collecting which I have to Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year More about membership!

Reader Reviews Click here and be the first to review this book! Membership Advantages Reviews "Beyond the Book" backstories Free books to read and review (US only) Find books by time Read more Read less Looking for something great to read? See more Product Details Hardcover: 256 pages Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (January 20, 2009) Language: English ISBN-10: 0151013969 ASIN: B004JZWM1W Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 6.4 x 0.8 inches Shipping Weight: 9.6 news In versions before 6.0 you will see the message "Site is whitelisted".

However, from my point of view, I needed to read through the 12 pages in the postscript to learn this little morsel of philatelic information. My only wish is that he had more fully delivered on the promise of that memorable opening scene. Attributing his passion in some measure to his upbringing, he recounts his family history: scion of a middle-class Jewish family in postwar London challenged by the early deaths of both parents. James' Ghost Stories Work Eerily Well in This Graphic Fiction FormFormed OED Chief Editor's 'Word Detective' Makes for Compelling Reading explore REVIEWS 'The Case of Alan Turing' Gives the Enigma Project

He has written for newspapers such as The Independent on Sunday and The Observer. flag Like ·see review Apr 05, 2013 Mila rated it it was ok His other book was awesome but I found this pretty boring actually, even though I like stamps. The hobby serves as a balm, if not a cure, for hidden wounds. While I enjoyed many parts of his new book, it just never seems to come together into a cohesive narrative.

Garfield's hobby ultimately consumed him to the point where his wife sought divorce. Have one to sell? Actually, he does make some of the details compelling, when he's talking about his special subgenre of collecting: stamps with printing errors. It is not unlikely that, soon, like a colour on an error stamp, the eccentric, overspending philatelist will simply cease to exist.

Firefox Tracking Protection If you are Private Browsing in Firefox, "Tracking Protection" may cause the adblock notice to show. It really sparked an interest in more things outside of the United States. Sorry, there was a problem. Authors, English > 20th century > Biography.

Comment 2 people found this helpful. Get the best of About Home in your inbox. Thank you for your feedback. his childhood stamp collecting.

In the final pages, we feel Garfield's pain as the expense of his divorce forces him to sell his beloved stamps. These rare, valuable pieces of paper were out of his reach as a youngster, but when the urge to collect was suddenly rekindled in his adult years, he could at last As an adult his childhood obsession became a full-blown mid-life crisis.